Arrojo Salon Wins L’Oréal Professionnel US Color & Style Trophy Competition

Written by SalonCentric TeamFeb 26, 2020

Read time 5 min


Courtesy of L’Oréal Professionnel
Photo Credit: Courtesy of L’Oréal Professionnel
New York-based Arrojo Salon, with team members Madison Dittman, Hissa Igarashi and Tene Lee, were crowned as the second-ever Overall Winner of L’Oréal Professionnel U.S.Color & Style Trophy. As the Overall Winner, Arrojo Salon will be the designated U.S.representative to compete in the worldwide competition scheduled for March 31, 2020 in Milan. Color & Style Trophy is the longest running hair competition in the world, and now in its 65th year. 

L’Oréal Professionnel US Color & Style Trophy was held on Sunday, February 2, 2020 at The Ritz Carlton, Marina Del Rey, CA with 200 guests in attendance. There were 126 entries across five categories. Additionally, there was a People’s Choice Award that went to Denver’s Matthew Morris Salon and Skincare with team members Shea Petersen and Summer Verrett. Their entry was voted on by the public through between October and December 2019. 

Courtesy of L’Oréal Professionnel
Photo Credit: Courtesy of L’Oréal Professionnel
The evening also featured a hair presentation by U.S.L’Oréal Professionnel Artistic team with stylists Matthew Collins, Jennifer MacDougall, Drew Schaefering, and colorists Nancy Braun, Jo Blackwell-Preston and Min Kim supported by Jessica Gonsalves, Sebasatian Langman-Kirtley and Jessica Todd. Their show Frenchness Interpreted, brought to life the French vision of beauty. A second performance entitled Emotive Feelings by guests Brooks and Brooks featured Sally Brooks, Jamie Brooks and Grace Dalgeish. These renowned hairdressers from the U.K.have been honored as British Hairdresser twice, as well as London Hairdresser of the Year, three times. 

Here is the list of winners and runners-up:
Winner: EL SALON, Denver, CO. Team Members: Ron Lopez, Joel Pelanek and Katelyn Simkins 
Runner-up: MATTHEW MORRIS SALON AND SKINCARE, Denver, CO. Team Members: Julia Taffet and Alexia Lienhard 

Winner: SLOANE STEVENS SALON, Homer Glen, IL. Team Members: Sara Beth Murphy and Lindsay Olson 
Runner-up: MARZIA SALON San Francisco, CA. Team Members: Christina Choi, Mary Jane Smith, Scott Smith, and Kingmond Young 

Winner: STUDIO BRANCA SALON AND SPAS, St. Louis, MO, Team Members: Anna Andrews, Callie Andrews, Carrie Auchly, Maggie Haberberger, Alis Mergenthaler. 
Runner-up: THE LEMON LAB COLOR STUDIO, Atlantic Beach, FL. Team Member: Sophia 

Winner:LUXE LAB, Santa Monica, CA.Team Members: Luisana Luna, Melody Rochelle Russ and Lauren Sill 
Runner-up:DOP DOP SALON, New York, NY. Team Member: Yuki Yasui

Winner: ARROJO, New York, NY Team Members: Madison Dittman, Hissa Igarashi, and Tene Lee 
Runner-up: STUDIO BRANCA SALON AND SPAS, St. Louis, MO. Team Members: Callie Andrews, Sarah Blackburn, Madison Coffman, Desiree Drury, and Jessica Peanick